Book Prize


BAAL awards a Book Prize at its annual conference in August/September.

Winner for 2019

We are pleased to announce the winner of the 2019 award is The Oxford Handbook of Language Policy and Planning. Edited by James Tollefson and Miguel Pérez-Milans. Oxford University Press.

Warmest congratulations to the editors and authors for this outstanding contribution to literature in Applied Linguistics.

Short list for 2019

The Multilingual Citizen. Towards a Politics of Language for Agency and Change. Edited by Lisa Lim, Christopher Stroud and Lionel Wee. Multilingual Matters.

Political Economy and Sociolinguistics. Neoliberalism, Inequality and Social Class. David Block. Bloomsbury.

Culture, Discourse and the Workplace. Jo Angouri. Routledge.

The Oxford Handbook of Language Policy and Planning. Edited by James Tollefson and Miguel Pérez-Milans. Oxford University Press.

For past winners, see foot of this page.

Entry requirements

BAALoffers an annual prize for an outstanding book in the field of Applied Linguistics. Books (monographs, text books, edited volumes, reference books etc.) in any field of applied linguistics are eligible for the prize. Eligibility is not restricted to books published in the United Kingdom.

Entries must be published primarily in English and must bear a copyright notice for the calendar year prior to the year of the Annual General Meeting (AGM) where the prize is to be awarded (e.g. 2016 copyright for the AGM in 2017). Second editions are not eligible.

Nominations for the BAAL Book Prize are made by the publishers of the book and must be accompanied by four copies of the nominated volume and an administration fee of £40 for each title submitted. (Each administration fee must be paid in pounds sterling, with cheques made payable to ‘British Association for Applied Linguistics’; alternative means of payment can be arranged with the BAAL administrator, email: A shortlist is generally drawn up before the end of June each year and the prize is eventually awarded at the AGM in September. Details of the forthcoming annual conference and its venue are posted on this website.

Submitting books for the prize

The closing date for nominations is 13 December of the year before the AGM.

Books to be published in December of that year may be submitted later than this date by prior arrangement with the BAAL Publications Secretary.

Copies of books should be sent to the BAAL Publications Secretary. See the Committee page for details.

Judging of titles

(1) All entries to the BAAL Book Prize will be considered by a panel of expert reviewers whose teaching and research interests coincide with the titles under consideration. The panel will recommend titles for the shortlist.

(2) The short-listed titles will be considered by a second panel of judges who are themselves experienced researchers and authors and well known in the field.

(3) Eligibility is not restricted to UK publishers/authors. We welcome nominations from publishers outside the UK who might wish to draw their books to the attention of a British academic audience.

(4) The process of selection and judging is designed to bring nominated titles to the attention of staff and students in a wide range of institutions. Even where nominations are not short-listed, publishers can be sure that their new titles will get valuable publicity.

(5) The definition of ‘applied linguistics’ is to be interpreted in a wide sense: many studies in sociolinguistics, discourse analysis, communication studies and education will come within the scope of the BAAL Book Prize. If you are in doubt about the eligibility of a title, please contact the current Publications Secretary.

(6) Judges are requested when making their decisions to take account of a range of criteria, including the production quality of the book, and the style of presentation and language. In past years, judges have shown less interest in introductory text books and edited collections, although there is no reason why such volumes should not be successful where they clearly make an innovative and important contribution to the field.

(7) Details of the short-listed titles are posted on the BAAL website before the AGM, along with selected extracts from the comments submitted by the reviewers.

(8) The publishers of the winning title may use the phrase ‘BAAL Book Prize + RELEVANT DATE’ or ‘Winner of the BAAL Book Prize + DATE’ in the publicity for the book. Publishers of short-listed titles may use the phrase ‘Short-listed for the BAAL Book Prize + DATE’ in their publicity.

(9) BAAL may donate some of the submitted books to a book charity when the judging process has been completed

Reviewing books

Please contact the Publications Secretary if you wish to review books for the prize. Prospective reviewers should check the requirements given on the Review Form.

Past winners

2018 – Alastair Pennycook (2017). Posthumanist Applied Linguistics Routledge.

2017 – Ingrid Piller (2016). Linguistic Diversity and Social Justice: An Introduction to Applied Sociolinguistics. Oxford University Press.

2016 – Mario Saraceni (2015). World Englishes: A Critical Analysis (2015). Bloomsbury Academic.

2015 – O. Garcia & Li Wei (2014). Translanguaging: Language, Bilingualism and Education. Palgrave Macmillan.

2014 – Suresh Canagarajah (2013). Translingual practice: Global Englishes and Cosmopolitan Relations. Routledge.

2013 (joint winner) – Alastair Pennycook (2012). Language and Mobility: Unexpected Places, Multilingual Matters.

2013 (joint winner) – Andrea Tyler (2012). Cognitive linguistics and language learning: theoretical basics and experimental evidence. Routledge.

2012 – Graham Hall (2011). Exploring English Language Teaching: Language in Action. Routledge.

2011- Nikolas Coupland (Ed.) (2010). The Handbook of Language and Globalisation. Wiley-Blackwell.

2010 – Niko Besnier (2009). Gossip and the Everyday Production of Politics. University of Hawaii Press.

2009 – Li Wei & Melissa G. Moyer (2008). The Blackwell Guide to Research Methods in Bilingualism and Multilingualism. Blackwel.

2008 – Alastair Pennycook (2007). Global Englishes and Transcultural Flows. Routledge.

2007 – Ben Rampton (2006). Language in Late Modernity. Cambridge University Press.

2006 – Aneta Pavlenko (2005). Emotions and Multilingualism. Cambridge University Press.

2005 – Viv Edwards (2004). Multilingualism in the English-speaking World. Blackwell.

2004 – Ron Scollon & Suzie Wong Scollon (2003). Discourses in Place: Language in the Material World. Routledge.

2003 – Alison Wray (2002). Formulaic Language and the Lexicon. Cambridge University Press.

2002 – Manfred Görlach (2001). A Dictionary of European Anglicisms. Oxford University Press.

2001 – Daniel Nettle and Suzanne Romaine (2000). Vanishing Voices: The Extinction of the World’s Languages. Oxford University Press.

2000 – Rachel Sutton-Spence & Bencie Woll (1999). The Linguistics of British Sign Language: An Introduction. Cambridge University Press.

1996 – Deborah Cameron (1995). Verbal Hygiene.

1994 – K. Richardson, (ed) (1993). Text, Discourse and Context: Representation of Poverty in Britain. Longman.

1987 – Michael Byram (1986). Minority Education and Ethnic Survival.

1986 – Rod Ellis (1985). Understanding Second Language Acquisition.

British Association for Applied Linguistics (BAAL)

BAAL is a professional association, based in the UK, which provides a forum for people interested in language and applied linguistics. We have an international professional membership of around 1000 members. 

To read more about what applied linguistics is and does, click here.