

DRAFT Annual General Meeting Minutes Friday 7th September 2018, 6 - 6.55 pm Temple Hall, York St John University

1. Introduction and apologies

The Chair welcomed everyone to the AGM and introduced members of the EC. Glenn Hadikin was confirmed as minute taker.

<u>Present:</u> Tess Fitzpatrick (Chair - TF), Dawn Knight (DK), Steve Morris (SM), Glenn Hadikin, Bernie O'Rourke, Chris Hall, Rachel Wicaksono, Caroline Tagg, Alex Leung, Bettina Beinhoff, Owen Minns, Naeema B. Hann, Marilyn Martin-Jones, Nadia Mifka-Profozic, Leesa Clarke, Indu Meddegama, Kate Barber, Helen Sauntson, James Simpson, Sal Consoli, Tony Liddicoat, Marlies Whitehouse, Daniel Perrin, Chris McGuirk, Gwyneth James, Ian Cheffy, Kirsty Blewitt, Cha Li, Laura Delaloye, Linda Walz, Sheena Gardner, Gail Forey

Apologies: Li Li, Claire Hardaker, Zsófia Demjén, Emma Marsden

2. Revision to the minutes. There were no revisions to the minutes of the 2017 AGM.

3. Chair's report

TF went through the main points of the report and thanked the EC for all their hard work and a good working relationship over three years.

TF highlighted areas of risk such as Brexit but discussed how it seemed to bring applied linguists together in a more collegiate spirit. She also highlighted our links to AILA.

TF thanked Richard Smith for a lot of recent work on the website.

4. Applied Linguistics (OUP) report

TF presented a report from the Applied Linguistics journal highlighting recent stats.

5. Competition to visually represent BAAL's multilingualism

ZH introduced a new competition that will involve linguistics working with artists – the call will be published in October 2018.

6. Treasurer's report

SM highlighted the main points of the Treasurer's report. In sum, he said we were on a good trajectory. He highlighted any potentially unusual figures and explained what was going on. Overall it seems income has risen.

The accounts were formally approved.

7. Awards and Endorsements

- TF congratulated the following successful BAAL nominees to AcSS.
- TF explained that BAAL has endorsed Oasis a database of one page summaries of research articles <u>https://oasis-database.org/about</u>
- The members also congratulated the scholarship and prize winners:

Christopher Brumfit Scholarship

• Mihiri Jansz

PGR/Early Career Scholarships

- Jack Joyce
- Adrian Yip
- Fatima Alhalwachi

Richard Pemberton prize

• Sal Consoli (The Researcher-Participants Relationship: What Risks Can We Take?)

Poster prize

• Miiri Jansz (The problem of being a first language speaker of English in Sri Lanka)

BAAL book prize:

• *Posthumanist Applied Linguistics* by Alastair Pennycook (Routledge)

8. Elections to executive committee

- SM thanked members of the committee who were coming to the end of their term: Claire Hardaker, Chris Hall and Elvis Yevudey.
- All positions except for postgraduate development and liaison coordinator were uncontested. Members congratulated the candidates. The successful candidates were:
 - Chair (Dawn Knight)
 - Secretary (Caroline Tagg)
 - Newsletter editor (Bettina Beinhof)
 - Media coodinator (Owen Minns)
 - SIG coordinator (Helen Sauntson)
 - Ordinary members (Zhu Hua, Rachel Wicaksono)
 - PDL (Sal Consoli)
 - Co-opted member (Dominic Griffiths, LOC)
- An election was held for the PDL coordinator. One candidate gave a speech and SM read out a statement from the other candidate.

AOB None, business was closed and DK reminded the members that minutes will go up on the website as soon as they are available.